Tony Milligan Gives Lecture on Virtue Ethics

On Wednesday 25 September, GCRI hosted an online lecture by Tony Milligan entitled ‘Virtue, Risk and Space Colonization’. Milligan is a Lecturer in the Philosophy Department at the University of Hertfordshire.

Discussions of the ethics of risk and space colonization are often dominated by consequentialist ethics. This includes GCRI’s recent ethics lecture by Nick Beckstead as well as my own writings on the topic (e.g. [1-2]). Milligan’s lecture covers the same risk and space topics but in terms of virtue ethics. Regardless of one’s views (and …

Read More »

Beckstead Reprise Lecture Audio Online

The mp3 audio file for Nick Beckstead’s reprise lecture is now online here. The reprise lecture was held 28 Aug 2013, titled On The Overwhelming Importance Of Shaping The Far Future. An online summary for the original lecture is already online here.

The audio file has been edited to remove sections in which the call was temporarily disconnected and other audio issues. However, we left in several stretches in which the audio is inaudible or marginally audible. We want it to be known that while the …

Read More »

Nick Beckstead Gives Lecture on Shaping the Far Future

On Thursday 15 August, GCRI hosted an online lecture by Nick Beckstead entitled, ‘On the Overwhelming Importance of Shaping the Far Future’ (see the pre-lecture announcement). Beckstead recently finished a PhD at the Philosophy Department at Rutgers University, where he focused on normative philosophy and normative ethics, applied ethics, and decision theory. He is currently a Research Fellow at the Oxford University Future of Humanity Institute. The lecture is based on Beckstead’s dissertation of the same title, which focuses on the topics of existential risk, …

Read More »

Tony Milligan To Deliver Online Lecture On Virtue Ethics 25 September

This is the pre-event announcement for an online lecture by Tony Milligan, Lecturer with the Department of Philosophy at the University of Hertfordshire.

Here is the full talk info:

Virtue, Risk and Space Colonization
Wednesday 25 September 2013, 17:00 GMT (10:00 Los Angeles, 13:00 New York, 18:00 London)
To be held online via Skype. RSVP required by email to Seth Baum (seth [at] gcrinstitute.org). Space is limited.

Virtue ethics is one of the key components of contemporary ethical theory. It shifts our focus in the direction of living well and …

Read More »

Beckstead Reprise Lecture Scheduled For 28 August

Due to popular demand, we are hosting a reprise of Nick Beckstead’s online lecture ‘On the Overwhelming Importance of Shaping the Far Future’. This lecture will also be recorded and posted online. There currently is space available for this – please email me to RSVP (seth [at] gcrinstitute.org).

Here is the full talk info (title & abstract are same as before):

On the Overwhelming Importance of Shaping the Far Future

Wednesday 28 August, 15:00 GMT (8:00 Los Angeles, 11:00 New York, 16:00 London)
To be held online via Skype. …

Read More »

Tim Maher Gives Lecture on Ambient Intelligence

On Thursday 1 August, GCRI hosted an online lecture by Tim Maher entitled ‘Ambient Intelligence: Implications for Global Environmental Change and Totalitarianism Risk’ (see the pre-lecture announcement). Maher is a recent graduate of Bard College’s M.S. program in Climate Science and Policy and a GCRI Research Assistant. The lecture is based on Maher’s M.S. thesis ‘Ambient Intelligence and Ambient Persuasive Technology: Sustainability and Threats to Autonomy’ [1]. The lecture included discussants Maurits Kaptein, Assistant Professor of Statistics and Research Methods at the University of Tilburg …

Read More »

Nick Beckstead To Deliver Online Lecture On Ethics of Far Future 15 August

This is the pre-event announcement for an online lecture by Nick Beckstead, a Research Fellow at the Oxford University Future of Humanity Institute.

Here is the full talk info:

On the Overwhelming Importance of Shaping the Far Future
Thursday 15 August, 16:00 GMT (9:00 Los Angeles, 12:00 New York, 17:00 London)
To be held online via Skype. RSVP required by email to Seth Baum (seth [at] gcrinstitute.org). Space is limited.

The lecture is based on Beckstead’s recent PhD dissertation of the same title.

Abstract:

In this talk I will argue for two …

Read More »

New Magazine Article ‘Making The Universe A Better Place’

One more quick announcement. I have a short magazine article Making The Universe A Better Place in the new issue of Current Exchange/Technophilic Magazine. (The link is for the full issue. There’s no direct link to my article yet.) The article presents an overview of the ethics of global catastrophic risk as it relates to astrobiology. Technophilic is a magazine for science and engineering students, and so the article tells my personal story of how I transitioned from an engineering grad student to someone active …

Read More »

New Paper: Ethics & Dual-Use Bioengineering

GCRI has a new academic paper out. The ethics of global catastrophic risk from dual-use bioengineering, by Seth Baum and Grant Wilson, has been accepted for publication in Ethics in Biology, Engineering and Medicine. The paper was written for a talk of the same title presented at the 7th Annual International Conference on Ethical Issues In Biomedical Engineering.

The paper discusses ethics and law issues raised by dual-use bioengineering. Dual-use technologies are technologies with both beneficial and harmful applications. Bioengineered technologies can be both very beneficial …

Read More »

Tim Maher To Deliver Online Lecture On Ambient Intelligence & GCR 11 July With Discussants Howe, Kaptein & Rowell

This is the pre-event announcement for an online lecture by Tim Maher, GCRI Research Assistant and recent graduate of Bard College’s M.S. program in Climate Science and Policy

Here is the full talk info:

Ambient Intelligence: Implications for Global Environmental Change and Totalitarianism Risk
Thursday 11 July, 17:00 GMT (10:00 Los Angeles, 13:00 New York, 18:00 London)
To be held online via Skype or equivalent. RSVP required by email to Seth Baum (seth [at] gcrinstitute.org). Space is limited.

The lecture will feature three discussants:
Peter Howe, Post-Doctoral Fellow, Yale Project on …

Read More »